>Inaugural Festivities

>

Seven. The number of days left until we have a new direction for our country. Jackpot!!!

The inauguration is on Tuesday, but the festivities start Sunday at the Lincoln Memorial.

I wonder what this man would be thinking.


I think I know.

I wonder what this man will be saying.

Well I don’t know the words he will be using, but as Bishop Gene Robinson opens the inaugural festivities with a prayer, I know that a feeling of hope, of inclusion, and of promise will be heard by all. The festivities will be taped and broadcast for free on HBO Sunday evening (6 – 8 Central time). Of course, I’m not sure the 2 hour broadcast will include the prayer, but I assume it will. Free, for all Americans (that have cable or satellite).

Robinson had this to say in an email to Episcopal Cafe:

“I am writing to tell you that President-Elect Obama and the Inaugural Committee have invited me to give the invocation at the opening event of the Inaugural Week activities, “We are One,” to be held at the Lincoln Memorial, Sunday, January 18, at 2:00 pm. It will be an enormous honor to offer prayers for the country and the new president, standing on the holy ground where the “I have a dream speech” was delivered by Dr. King, surrounded by the inspiring and reconciling words of Abraham Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. It is also an indication of the new president’s commitment to being the President of ALL the people. I am humbled and overjoyed at this invitation, and it will be my great honor to be there representing the Episcopal Church, the people of New Hampshire, and all of us in the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community.”

It’s nice to know that someone is “representing” me at the inaugural festivities. I haven’t heard anything like that from Rick Warren.

Beyonce, U2, John Legend, will.i.am, Usher, Garth Brooks and a bevy of other performers will entertain.

Leave a Reply

