>Tom’s Marriage Manifesto

>If you are looking for the owls, just scroll on down.

Let’s just not recognize anyone’s marriage, until we can recognize all marriages.

This comic by Mar Bennett:

…expresses what this blog by Tom Ackerman: A Marriage Manifesto…of sorts
proposes we do. Thanks John for sending this.

I no longer recognize marriage. It’s a new thing I’m trying.

Turns out it’s fun.

Yesterday I called a woman’s spouse her boyfriend.
She says, correcting me, “He’s my husband,”

“Oh,” I say, “I no longer recognize marriage.”

….Suddenly the majority gets to feel what the minority feels. … (Read the post)

So, we can take this away. We can refuse to recognize marriage in the cultural sense. It is totally within our rights, as Americans, to follow our beliefs and recognize or not recognize what we like.

I guess this is a call out to all Americans with beliefs similar to mine.

If you believe that all people should have equal rights, and if you believe that marriage is one of the greatest destinations of a relationship, then perhaps you believe that nobody should have marriage until everybody does.

That’s what I believe.

Seems like a harmless way to make a point.

Leave a Reply

